TAKE 1 BREAK

Take 1 break during work….. get the latest gossip+tips+inspiration

“I Don’t Know How She Does It”

Jessica Szohr and Sarah Jessica Parker shoot scenes with a tiny co-star in Brooklyn Heights for their upcoming movie, “I Don’t Know How She Does It”

 

This movie is based on a book and here is a quote from a rewiew I found: 

 Once I got into the book (in its first ten or so pages), everything else became a distraction and getting back to it became my short-term goal. 

The most insightful parts are when she brings out the essential ironies of the lives of today’s working women. “I need my husband to be more like a woman, so that I can go out and work like a man.” And, “How do you say you have to leave early because the baby is sick without saying a) baby and b) leave?” “When a man excuses himself from a meeting to attend his son’s game, he is patted on the back and when a woman needs to leave early she is not ‘committed enough’?”

Many women grow up believing that they can “have it all” – that they can balance work and family life at no cost to their family or work or themselves. Kate’s assistant Momo starts as a wide-eyed innocent – “I have decided I just won’t have any kids” she says at the beginning of the book. But by the end she comes to realize that “having it all” may actually mean having too much.

<!–

Bookmark and Share

–>

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment